Council in Nova Scotia have proved abortive. The local ministry or cabinet, styled the Executive Council, consists of the Prime Minister, (being the Provincial Secretary and President of the Council), the Attorney-General, the Minister of Works and Mines and the Minister of Highways. These are salaried officials, and the other members are six in number without office. Agriculture, immigration and education are under the control and management of the government through certain boards and councils, each with its secretary and staff of officials.

The sources of the principal revenues are (1) mines and minerals upon which certain royalties are charged, together with license fees and rentals; (2) the federal subsidy and interest on balances due from the Dominion, paid by virtue of the British North America Act; (3) interest on railway loans and advances, succession duties, payments from the Dominion Government under the Agricultural Instruction Act; (4) crown lands and other fees and dues paid into the Provincial Secretary's office. In 1921, the total revenue from all sources, capital and ordinary, was \$10,427,919.32.

Municipal Institutions.—Municipal administration in Nova Scotia has been developed since Confederation. Previous to that event the local government of counties and townships was confided to the magistracy, which was an appointed body, holding commissions for life and not responsible in any way to the electorate. In the early years of its history this body did much useful and important public service, yet abuses here and there existed on account of the irresponsible nature of their tenure of office, which rendered reform and public accountability very difficult to obtain. Public opinion, however, and the controlling influence of the legislatures operating steadily upon even irresponsible bodies of life-appointed magistrates made the institution as it existed fairly acceptable to the people In 1864 an act providing for the optional incorporation of counties and townships was passed, but few counties or districts took advantage of the privilege thus accorded. In 1875, the incorporation of the counties and certain townships was made compulsory, twenty-four municipalities being then established. In 1895, the Towns Incorporation Act was passed, making the incorporation of towns throughout the province optional. In 1921 there were 41 incorporated towns.

The county councils consist of councillors elected by the ratepayers every three years; usually one is elected for each polling district, but in some districts two are provided for. The warden or presiding officer is chosen by the council and holds office until the next election of councillors. The mayors of towns are elected by the ratepayers and hold office for one year. The city of Halifax, the capital of the province, has a special charter, the mayor being elected annually and the eighteen aldermen (or members) for three years, six retiring each year but being eligible for re-election.

The exercise of the powers of the councils, the election of their members and the duties and responsibilities of their officials, their